Practice management software for CA and CS firms in India: a 2026 comparison
We make Rulee, one of the tools below, so read this knowing that. Every fact about another product comes from that company's own website on 19 October 2026, and each one is linked. Where a site does not say something, we write "not stated" rather than guess. Prices change; check the linked page before you decide. If anything here is wrong, write to support@rulee.in and we will correct it.
The short answer
- You are a practising CA and want something free from the Institute: ICAI's own Practice Management Software (free for CA practitioners and CA firms).
- Your firm already runs on Zoho Books: Zoho Practice (free for three years for up to 5 users for ICAI members in practice).
- Income-tax portal notices and e-proceedings matter most: Vider ATOM with ATOM Pro, or Jamku with Jamku Portal.
- Staff attendance and leave are the main problem: Simplify Practice.
- You want a client portal and the lowest flat yearly price: QwikCA, Finexo or Practive.
- You want fees judged against the hours worked, GST invoicing that settles with TDS, GST reconciliation and one price per firm, for a CA or a CS practice: Rulee.
- Your clients are mostly in the US, UK or Europe: TaxDome.
How we compared
Eight things decide whether a tool fits an Indian practice: an Indian compliance calendar (GST, TDS, ITR and, for CS firms, ROC and MCA), GST invoicing, time against fees, team attendance and leave, a client portal and documents, sync with government portals for notices, a phone app, and how the price grows with the team. No tool does all eight best; the table shows where each one puts its weight.
At a glance
| Tool | Made by | Price, as published | Free plan or trial | Stands out for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rulee | Bookify Global Services LLP, Kochi | Per firm: Basic ₹899, Plus ₹1,499, Pro ₹1,999 a month plus GST (7, 15 and 50 users) | Free plan (2 users, 10 clients); 3 weeks free on paid plans, no card | Fees review, GST invoicing with TDS, GST reconciliation, CA and CS calendars |
| ICAI PMS | ICAI (Beneficiary Schemes Directorate) | Free for CA practitioners and CA firms | Free; user limit not stated | No cost, Android and iOS apps |
| Zoho Practice | Zoho | Standard ₹2,950 a month billed yearly for up to 5 users; ₹400 per extra user | 14-day trial; free 3 years (5 users) for ICAI members in practice | Zoho Books, Sign and Payroll in one family; client portal on Premium |
| Vider ATOM | Vider Business Solutions, Hyderabad | Not published (demo) | 7-day trial | Income Tax, GST and MCA portal sync; UDIN and DSC registers |
| Simplify Practice | Vritti Solutions, Pune | ₹100 per user a month for ICAI members; free up to 5 users on ICAI's page | Demo | Attendance (GPS and biometric), leave, timesheets |
| QwikCA | QwikCA | ₹1,000 to ₹27,000 a year (1 to 60 users), plus GST | 1 month free | Client portal, UDIN register, client and staff apps |
| Finexo | Finexo Softwares, Jaipur | ₹5,999 a year for 10 users, plus GST | 7-day trial | Flat yearly price; tasks made from each client's GST, ITR and TDS details |
| Jamku | Madrecha Solutions, Thane | ₹6,500 a year up to 5 users; ₹1,300 per user a year after, plus GST and a setup fee | Demo; Jamku Portal 5-day trial | Running since 2013; separate Jamku Portal for IT, GST and TRACES notices |
| Practive | Mative Pvt Ltd, Jalore | ₹75 to ₹99 per user a month, billed yearly, plus GST | Free trial (length not stated) | Low per-user price; client portal with online payment; Tally export |
| TaxDome | TaxDome | US$800 to US$1,200 per seat a year | Demo | Global client portal, e-signatures, mobile client app; no India version |
Each tool in a few lines
Rulee
Built for Indian CA and CS firms. Every task carries a client, an owner, a due date and a fee; the compliance calendar fills itself from each client's services (GST, TDS, ITR, audit, ROC and MCA, payroll). Invoices are raised from finished tasks with the right CGST, SGST or IGST and settle themselves when the payment is recorded with the TDS the client deducted. The Fees review sets each client's fee against the hours the team logged, so fees can be revised fairly. Plus adds GST reconciliation (purchases against GSTR-2B, sales against GSTR-1); Pro adds GST notice tracking, a credential vault Rulee itself cannot read, and AI. Priced per firm, not per user. Rulee keeps no client documents.
ICAI Practice Management Software
ICAI's own cloud tool, offered free to CA practitioners and CA firms and opened with an ICAI membership number. Its pages list task management with auto-allocation, document management, billing, a client database with client-wise login, reminders, and time tracking, with Android and iOS apps. ICAI's pages do not state a user limit or an end date, or a compliance calendar, GST reconciliation or portal sync. ICAI's PMS page.
Zoho Practice
Zoho's practice tool, built around Zoho Books: invoicing runs through Books, e-signatures through Zoho Sign, and it connects to Zoho Payroll and Expense. Tasks, recurring tasks, templates, timesheets, document management and WhatsApp are on both plans; the self-service client portal is on Premium (₹8,950 a month billed yearly). ICAI members in practice get it free for three years for up to 5 users. Its pages do not state an Indian statutory calendar, attendance, a DSC register or Indian portal sync. Zoho Practice pricing.
Vider ATOM
From Hyderabad, for CAs, CSs, CMAs and advocates. ATOM lists a taskboard with recurring tasks and approvals, a compliance calendar, attendance, leave and timesheet approvals, a client portal, UDIN and DSC registers, document in and out, and OneDrive and Google Drive storage, and says it syncs GST, MCA and Income Tax data. ATOM Pro adds income-tax e-proceedings and notice tracking, outstanding demands and return status. Pricing is by demo; a 7-day trial is offered. Vider ATOM.
Simplify Practice
From Pune, under an MoU with ICAI. Strongest on running the team: assignments, timesheets, biometric and GPS attendance, leave and holidays, expenses, plus CRM with invoice and receipt registers. ICAI's page lists it as free for firms with up to 5 users and ₹100 per user a month above that. Its pages do not state a client portal, document storage, portal sync or a DSC register. Simplify Practice pricing.
QwikCA
Tasks in Kanban, list and calendar views, GST invoices with payment links, timesheets with approval, attendance with location, a client portal with document upload, encrypted document storage, DSC and UDIN registers, WhatsApp reminders, and apps for clients and staff. Flat yearly plans from ₹1,000 (1 user) to ₹27,000 (60 users), plus GST, with a free month. QwikCA pricing.
Finexo
From Jaipur. Creates GST, ITR and TDS tasks from each client's registration and filing choices, raises GST invoices from completed work and sends them on WhatsApp, logs hours, tracks attendance and leave, and has a client portal and a document vault. One flat yearly price per firm from ₹5,999 for 10 users, plus GST, with a 7-day trial. Finexo pricing.
Jamku
From Thane, in use since 2013, for CA, CS, tax consultants, advocates and cost accountants. Tasks and stages, compliance, billing with costing and profitability, timesheets, attendance, client login, and file storage with OneDrive and Google Drive. Notice tracking for Income Tax, GST and TRACES is a separate product, Jamku Portal. ₹6,500 a year for up to 5 users, then ₹1,300 per user a year, plus GST and a setup fee. Jamku pricing.
Practive
Recurring GST, TDS and ITR tasks, approvals and checklists, invoices with credit notes and online payment, a task timer, attendance, a client portal with OTP login, document storage, a DSC register, a GST API that fetches tasks, Tally export and a WhatsApp assistant for clients, with an Android app. ₹75 to ₹99 per user a month, billed yearly, plus GST. Practive pricing.
TaxDome
A global platform for tax and accounting firms: workflow automation, CRM, a client portal and mobile client app, unlimited document storage, e-signatures, time and billing with card payments, and integrations with QuickBooks and Zoho Books. Priced per seat in US dollars. Its site has no India version, INR prices or GST billing, so it suits firms whose clients are mostly abroad. TaxDome pricing.
How Rulee works, so you can compare like for like
- Clients hear from your firm, not from Rulee. Invoices, payment reminders and the monthly newsletter reach clients by email from the firm's own address; clients have nothing to log in to.
- Client documents stay with the firm. Rulee stores no client documents or letters, so less of your clients' data sits with a software company.
- GST notices without portal passwords. On Pro, notices are pulled by OTP consent per GSTIN; client portal logins, where a firm keeps them, are encrypted in the browser so Rulee itself cannot read them.
- Nothing to install. Rulee works in any browser, on a laptop or a phone, and can be added to the phone's home screen.
How to choose
- List the three things that hurt most this filing season (missed dates, unbilled work, staff hours, notices, client chasing) and test each tool against those, not against a feature list.
- Price the team you will have in two years: per-user prices grow with every hire, per-firm prices do not.
- Try it with your real clients for a week. Every tool here offers a free plan, a trial or a demo.
- Check how you leave: can you export your tasks, clients, hours and invoices to Excel at any time?
Rulee side by side with the three tools firms ask us about most: Rulee vs ICAI PMS, Rulee vs Zoho Practice and Rulee vs Vider ATOM.
Frequently asked questions
Is there free practice management software for CA firms in India?
Yes. ICAI offers its own Practice Management Software free to CA practitioners and CA firms. Zoho Practice is free for three years for up to 5 users for ICAI members in practice, and ICAI lists Simplify Practice as free for firms with up to 5 users. Rulee has a Free plan for 2 users and 10 clients, open to any firm, CA or CS.
Which practice management software is priced per firm rather than per user?
Rulee is priced per firm (Basic ₹899, Plus ₹1,499 and Pro ₹1,999 a month plus GST, for 7, 15 and 50 users). Finexo and QwikCA sell flat yearly plans by team size. Zoho Practice includes 5 users and charges ₹400 a month for each extra user; Simplify Practice, Jamku and Practive charge per user.
Which tools track income-tax notices?
Vider ATOM Pro and Jamku Portal state that they track income-tax e-proceedings and notices. Rulee tracks GST notices on its Pro plan, by OTP consent.
Which tools have a client portal?
Zoho Practice (Premium), Vider ATOM, QwikCA, Finexo, Jamku (client login), Practive and TaxDome state a client portal. Rulee sends invoices, reminders and the newsletter to clients by email from the firm's own address instead.
Does any tool set a client's fee against the hours worked?
Rulee's Fees review shows, for each client and financial year, the fee billed against the hours logged, the rate an hour that makes against the firm's own rate, and a fee revision letter. Jamku lists costing and profitability.
When was this comparison checked?
Every fact about another product was taken from that company's own website on 19 October 2026. Prices and features change, so check the linked page before deciding.