Comparison

Rulee vs Zoho Practice

Checked on 19 October 2026 · Written by the Rulee team

We make Rulee. Everything about Zoho Practice below comes from its own website as it read on 19 October 2026; "not stated" means its site did not say, not that the feature is missing. If anything is wrong, write to support@rulee.in and we will correct it.

The short answer

Choose Zoho Practice if your firm already lives in Zoho Books, Sign and Payroll, you want a client portal and e-signatures, and you are an ICAI member in practice who can use the free three years for up to 5 users. Choose Rulee if you want an Indian compliance calendar built in, GST invoicing and reconciliation inside the practice tool, each client's fee set against the hours worked, attendance and leave, and one price for the whole firm as the team grows.

Side by side

RuleeZoho Practice
Made byBookify Global Services LLP, KochiZoho
Built forCA and CS firms in India (the firm picks CA, CS or Other and the templates follow)Solo practitioners and growing accounting firms, worldwide
PricePer firm: Free (2 users, 10 clients); Basic ₹899, Plus ₹1,499, Pro ₹1,999 a month plus GST (7, 15 and 50 users); 15% off yearlyStandard ₹2,950 a month billed yearly (₹3,540 monthly) for up to 5 users; Premium ₹8,950 billed yearly; extra user ₹400 a month billed yearly
Free plan or trialFree plan forever; 3 weeks free on every paid plan, no card14-day trial; free for 3 years for up to 5 users for ICAI members practising in India
Indian compliance calendarYes: GST, TDS, ITR, audit, payroll, and ROC / MCA for CS firms; tasks created by date every nightCompliance alerts and a UK Making Tax Digital dashboard; an Indian statutory calendar is not stated
GST invoicingGST invoices from finished tasks (CGST and SGST or IGST from the GSTIN), credit notes, instalments; payments settle with the TDS deducted; GSTR-1 JSONBilling by hours or by task, with invoicing through Zoho Books
Time and feesTimer and manual entries; Fees review sets each client's fee against the hours loggedTimesheets and billing; financial insights
Attendance and leaveCheck-in and check-out, leave with quotas, monthly payroll figuresNot stated
Client portalClients get invoices, reminders and the newsletter by email from the firm's own addressSelf-service client portal on Premium
Document storageClient documents stay with the firm; Rulee stores noneDocument management, with e-signatures through Zoho Sign
Portal sync and noticesGST notices on Pro, pulled by OTP consent without storing portal passwordsNot stated
DSC registerDSC register with custody and expiry alertsNot stated
GST reconciliationPurchases against GSTR-2B and sales against GSTR-1 (Plus and Pro)Not stated (Zoho Books is a separate product)
LettersProposals, engagement letters and up to 33 standard letters for a CA firm (26 for a CS firm)Not stated
PhoneWorks in any phone browser and can be added to the home screen; nothing to installNot stated
AIPro: health summary, Ask AI over the firm's data, Morning Brief, AI draftingNot stated

Where Zoho Practice fits well

Where Rulee goes further

The wider picture, with ten tools side by side: practice management software for CA and CS firms in India, compared.

Frequently asked questions

Is Zoho Practice free for CAs?

Zoho's page says it is free for three years from signup, for up to 5 users, for ICAI members practising in India, bundled with other Zoho apps. Otherwise Standard is ₹2,950 a month billed yearly for up to 5 users.

Does Rulee work with Zoho Books?

Rulee imports clients straight from Zoho Books and exports invoices and credit notes as a Zoho Books CSV (or a TallyPrime voucher XML).

Which costs less for a team of 15?

On the published prices: Rulee Plus is ₹1,499 a month plus GST for up to 15 users. Zoho Practice Standard is ₹2,950 a month billed yearly for 5 users, plus ₹400 a month for each of the 10 extra users.

Try Rulee free

Free plan forever. 3 weeks free on every paid plan, no card needed.

Start free →